Shrimp Marinade


My sister-in-law gave me a recipe to a wonderful shrimp marinade that she had prepared one time over the summer while she was visiting.  So I thought I would try to make it too over Labor day weekend.

Here is her recipe:

3 cloves garlic
1/3 c olive oil
1/4 cup tom sauce (a kind of soy sauce)
2 tblsp red wine vinegar
2 tblsp chopped fresh basil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 lbs shrimp
 
You marinade the shrimp for 1 hour.
 
I normally prepare better but to my chagrin I didn’t have all of the things I needed in order to make her marinade, so here is what I did instead.
 
First I realized I didn’t have any garlic and I used the last of my olive oil that morning so instead of 3 cloves of garlic and olive oil I used 2 containers of Dominios garlic butter sauce.
Instead of Tom sauce I used soy sauce.
Instead of red wine vinegar I used Balsamic vinegar.
Unfortunately I didn’t use anything fresh since I had none.
I didn’t add salt since I used soy sauce.
Instead of cayenne pepper I used ginger powder (I don’t like spicy). 
And I added a dab of honey.
 
So that was my concoction.  I like to mix things up and I feel like I really did with this marinade.  But the fun part is that IT WORKED!  The shrimp were delicious!  They were gone very quickly.  I would make this marinade again, but knowing me I will change it again.  It may not work the second time, but that is the fun part of experimenting.
One thought on “Shrimp Marinade

Leave a Reply

