Word of the Year 2013

humility

A friend of mine recently told me that she had chosen a word to represent her goal for the year.  She printed it, found a verse to go with it and even had her children to do the same.  It is easier to focus on one word so I thought I would give it a try.  My word for the year is humility.  The synonyms for this word is lowliness, meekness, submissive.  God has been using this particular word in my heart for a little while now and unfortunately instead of embracing what God is teaching me I have been ignoring it.
So now I am putting forth effort to embrace it.

God places a lot of importance on the character of humility.  Of course the ultimate expression of humility is Jesus Christ. His humility is perfect, and thankfully because I am His I can claim that perfect humility.  I am learning that with His help I can joyfully experience ways to show humility to my husband, to my children, to my family and friends more and more because of what He has already done for me on the cross.  Knowing and understanding what He has done gives me greater joy to cultivate the character of humility.  He says in Isaiah 66:2 that is what he looks for in His people.  We can be humble and contrite in spirit and tremble at His word because of what Christ has done.  I am thankful.

Isaiah 66:2
“All these things my hand has made, and so all these things came to be, declares the Lord.  But this is the one to whom I will look: he who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word.”

I am beginning my year off by reading the book “Because He Loves Me” by Elyse Fitzpatrick.  It is a wonderful book.  It is helping me to remember my identity in Christ, which helps me to be humble.  It may seem silly to need to be reminded of that since I am a Christian, but sometimes I don’t always live like my identity is in Christ, which then in turn does not help me to show humility.  Instead I find myself being the opposite of humble.  So I am glad that this book is helping me towards my goal.  It is a great read, I recommend it!

What can your word be for the year?  Here are some words a few friends have chosen: kindness, unconditional, learn, patience.  Continue the theme by picking a verse and maybe even a praise song to go with your word.
Then see what God does.

Leave a Reply

