Magnet Board

Magnet board 1

I wanted to make something to give for Mother’s Day. So this is what I came up with. I saw a pintrest as inspiration for the one I made. Go here and here for my inspiration. It cost me around $15 or so to make this. This one might have cost more than the ones that were made by other people but here is what you need if you want to make one like mine:

Scrapbook paper

craft paint

Mod Podge

Strong glue like gorilla glue

12X12 metal sheet – I bought mine from Home Depot for $4.97

14X14 canvas – you can usually get a deal on one at Michaels.

embellishments

magnets – I bought it from hobby lobby with the 40% coupon so it was $3.20

bottle caps – I bought these at half off at hobby lobby $1

ribbon

staple gun

Magnet board steps

#1 – Choose the scrapbook paper that you want to use.

#2 – Take your metal sheet and cover it with mod podge. Then place the scrapbook paper on it. NOTE: DO NOT PUT MOD PODGE ON THE TOP UNTIL IT HAS HAD TIME TO DRY.

#3 – Once the scrapbook paper is securely on the metal sheet then put a coat of mod podge on top. If you do this while it is wet on the bottom it will not go well. I learned the hard way!

#4 – If you want your canvas to be a different color other than white then paint the canvas.

#5 – Once the metal sheet has a pretty scrapbook paper on it all dry and nice and your canvas is like you want it then glue it down onto the canvas.

#6 – Now make the canvas look pretty! Place embellishments like paper flowers like I did, or put some ribbon along the metal sheet.

#7 – Now for the magnets. I bought magnets from Hobby Lobby. I used coordinating paper and cut circles to glue in the bottle caps and then glued the magnets on them.

#8 – The last thing to do is use your handy dandy staple gun to secure some ribbon on your canvas. I used a staple gun since the frame of the canvas is wooden. I thought it would keep the ribbon on it best.

Magnet board 1

And there you go. Another gift idea. I made this to go on my mother-in-law’s kitchen wall. She has light yellow walls. I think I may make another one for myself! It is useful to have more magnet space since the fridge gets taken up by precious art work!

Leave a Reply

