Wedding Reception Decor

Map Flowers

I had the priviledge of helping a friend decorate for her wedding reception. The theme was a travel theme. The couple have traveled to many countries on various mission trips and desires to go overseas again someday.  We used maps, travel stamps and different postcards from different places to decorate with. One of the things I made for the tables were these map flowers. The inspiration came from here.  They took a bit of time to make but it was fun.  Plus it went along with the theme AND it still looked appropriate for a wedding.  People who had outdated maps donated them for the cause.  It was great.  It only cost her glue to make these flowers.

Map Flowers 2

We used banner paper as table runners and used a travel stamp to stamp all over it.   It turned out cute.  The cake stand was made by the bride’s father.  I wish I had taken a photo of it but unfortunately I was helping with various tasks at the reception so I didn’t have a lot of time to take pictures!! So I will explain what it looked like.  The stand had three tiers.  She took copies of the travel postcards that her and her mother found at thrift shops and deco podged it to the bottom tier.  The middle tier had photo copied maps and on the top tier she used their passport stamps that were photo copied.  It was very unique.

Another thing I made but failed to take a photo of were wreaths.  I made three coffee filter wreaths.  There are many places to find tutorials on making them on pintrest.  I will have to make another post on that sometime.  The cost for those were about $2 each.  Very inexpensive but very nice.  I used the map flowers on the sides of two wreaths and they were placed on the outside doors of the church.  On another wreath I used a map and deco podged it to a wooden letter and placed it in the center of the wreath.  That wreath was placed in the foyer of the church where she also had family photos.  This bride wore her grandmother’s wedding gown.  She had photos of her grandmother and mother wearing the gown.  Each time it was worn there were small alterations made to fit the time.  It was really neat to see a dress worn thru three generations!

And the final thing I made for this wedding were signs.  I can’t believe I don’t have photos of those either but in the rush to get everything done I failed to take the time to take a picture!!  Arrrrrrrgh!  I made 4 signs.  I used a friends Silhouette machine.  I really want one now.  This machine is so great for this project.  I made vinyl lettering and used transfer paper to create wonderful personal signs.  The funniest sign she wanted made was one that said “Mutual Weirdness Forever.”

I then made their family verse which is Phil 4: 2-3 “Complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind.  Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.”  If only all marriages could live out this verse everyday.  What a difference it would make in our world!

Moving on…then I made a famous couples subway sign.  Here is the list they came up with: Fred and Wilma, Han and Leia, Jim and Pam, Beauty and the Beast, George and Jane Jetson, Bonnie and Clyde, Elizabeth Benette and Mr. Darcy (my favorite), Shrek and Fiona, Ron and Hermione, Superman and Lois Lane, Aragorn and Arwen, Kermit and Miss Piggy, Leonard and Penny, Popeye and Olive Oyl, Cliff and Claire Huckstable, and Lady and the Tramp.  Their names were in the center and they each included one set of grandparents on the list.  I thought that was a nice touch.  Do you recognize all the couples on the list?

The last sign I made was their name and wedding date.  I had never made signs before with vinyl lettering, but it is a breeze with the right materials.  I bought the vinyl and transfer paper from Amazon.  It was less expensive from there than buying it from a hobby shop.  I do enjoy being able to buy things from Amazon.  It comes quick and most things are usually less expensive than other places.  Their site is one of the first places I check to see if they sell whatever I am after.

Well I hope this post inspired a bride-to-be or a friend of a bride-to-be with some inexpensive ways to decorate the reception!  Again sorry for the lack of pictures but hopefully the descriptions are still useful!

Leave a Reply

